A person’s health is their own responsibility rather than the government’s responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Public health has been an ever growing concern of the modern society, due to which some say that staying fit is a personal thing, while others think that it's the government's job to keep them healthy. I strongly agree that every individual is responsible for their own health and the government cannot be held responsible for its citizens' well-being. This essay would discuss why it's not the responsibility of the central governing body and provide strong criticism that the accountability lies in the hands of the general public. On one hand, people argue that the government must be made responsible for the well-being of its citizen as it is the apex body of the nation. Governments are the central governing institutes, like the head member of any family and owing to this they should monitor public health on a regular basis and take appropriate steps to contain any outbreak of disease. However, it is not possible and also economically infeasible to generate statistic at the community level for the entire country and hence the responsibility of staying well-being lies with the people themselves. At the lowest level of the society, individuals are the best judge of their own fitness. They can easily self-diagnose or consult doctors, and take the necessary treatment to cure the illness. For example, during the Corovirus Pandemic, governments had taken steps to control the spread of the virus and to contain it, but the social distancing measure, carried out by every person, proved to be the most effective in fighting against the virus. In conclusion, even though governments are the apex body of any nation, ensuring everyone in the country is free from ailment is very difficult and uneconomical and thus the accountability of staying fit and healthy lies in the hands of society.