Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this era of rapid technological development, it is a hotly debated issue that whether the advancements in methods of entertainment, namely TV or computer, hold little value to the conventional ways like reading. From my point of view, I partly agree with this statement. On the one hand, it is conspicuous that spending time on a book may enhance cognitive skills of children. Owing to the lack of illustrative moving pictures and sound, children's reading books have to stimulate their creativity and imagination to comprehend the content of the works, thus boosting the development of their brain. A notable example of this is such fantasy books as Harry Potter. The magic and fantasy creatures described in this novel are what fosters the soul and imagination of millions of people around the world. On the other hand, spending time watching TV and playing computer games also has its own merits. Firstly, they are the source of numerous entertainments for the children nowadays. It is thanks to the multifunctional ability of modern devices that these modern inventions can relieve children of heavy pressure they have to face these days. With a computer or TV, for example, they can either listen to music or watch TV or do both of these things at the same time. Moreover, these digital devices also assist children with developing their social skills. This merit can be cultivated by children through cooperating with their friends by playing games like Minecraft. In conclusion, although reading a book can afford children with a myriad of advantages, watching TV and playing computer games still play an important role in the children’s growth.