There is little that individuals can do to help the environment. Do you agree?

There is no doubt that the government and the large firms have to do something to protect the environment. However, in my opinion, there is a lot that individuals are able to do too. To begin with, there is a lot that they can do about pollution. For example, if ordinary people stop using their cars all the time and take the public transport, use their bikes or just walk, this will reduce the air pollution drastically. Secondly, all people are responsible for the household waste and something could be done about that also. For instance, if recycling and reusing become things everyone does, household waste will not be such a problem. Finally, there are many people who are uninformed about the consequences and the causes of the environmental problems and if they start reading more about what they should and should not do, they will start helping the environment more. In conclusion, although it is true that government and the bigger firms have a big impact on the environment, individuals are also capable of doing a lot.