Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that children can learn productively by watching television and they be stimulated to watch tv at home and school. This essay strongly disagrees that children need to be motivated to watch television both at home and school. Firstly, this essay will discuss the pros of studying though tv -gazing and secondly, cons of depriving of social interactions with a teacher and classmates. There is no doubt that TV can be a powerful tool of delivering information and a nice part of learning process. Being an audiovisual medium more effective result can be achieved. information seen on a screen can stay longer in the minds of children. There is something that can be easily taught by visual illustrations. Even boring subjects like history can be made interesting with the help of TV. However, if TV is used as an educational tool then a strict monitoring needed as what children watch on TV. All those talk shows and soap operas we can see every day are a complete waste of time and even can have negative effects by distracting children from their studies. Moreover, the most of so-called educational programs like National Geographic cannot replace books and academic lectures because they tend to entertain people and do not have an aim to give deep and concentrated knowledge. It is highly unlikely that TV channel directors would abandon their profits and change talk shows to lectures and video lessons. Furthermore, if children watch TV in school also then their interaction with the teacher would be limited. Teachers teach a lot of things apart from academics. They can come down to the level of the student and can also stimulate children to learn. What is more, children would read less when they learn everything from TV. Reading is an active activity as compared to TV which is a passive activity. So, it would be detrimental to the holistic development of children. To conclude, although TV is a very good educational medium, it should be used within limits and whatever children learn from TV should also be carefully monitored by parents and teachers.