Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Which one do you agree with? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is irrefutably true that there exist two schools of thought who have opposing views when it comes to the way one should expend his/her leisure time. One school of thought stresses the fact that recreational time is better utilized if invested in cognitive activities, whereas the other group focusses on relaxing the mind. To set the wheels in motion, there are some people who subscribe to the idea that being mentally active is a better course of action to spend one ’s free time wisely. Though it’s not necessary, this is the section who is involved in jobs which demand high use of cerebral faculties and hence, they are always on their toes for getting the most out of their spare time to sharpen their skills. On the contrary, some individuals opine that taking complete rest and doing nothing is more pertinent to spend the free time. This could be the group, though not mandatorily, of people who have physically demanding jobs.  It is more often than not, acknowledged that everyone requires leisure time to emerge out of the stresses of work and everyday life. My belief is that being active suits me better rather than sitting idle during my free time. Be that as it may, I surmise that what we do with our spare time is our choice and no one has the authority over the subject to tell what particular activity is the best. To encapsulate it all, different people employ varied methods to spend their free time, which may or may not involve brainy activities. However, the way one chooses to utilize this time is a personal preference, and hence a more significant thing would be to enjoy yourself rather than debating about how to do it.