It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solution can you offer to deal with this situation?

In recent years, the growth in the rate of juvenile delinquency has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although some people believe that the widely spread physical scenes in the media is what causes the increase in juvenile crime, some feasible solution can be considered to address this. There are a great number of reasons why youth crime is growing. Firstly, since adolescents have excessive exposure to questionable content, such as violent movies or games, they might become aggressive, which leads to solving all the conflicts by violent. Secondly, if young adults were convinced that drug trafficking has become rampant, drug dealers would make the teenagers have their desire to commit illegitimate activities after getting high. Nevertheless, there is also a variety of solutions to alleviate this issue. First and foremost, in order to reduce the harmful effects of exposure to media brutality, this should be censored carefully before being allowed broadcasting on YouTube or other social networking sites. Moreover, parents should control and guide teenagers when they were children, make plans of the weekly family’s viewing and be selective about the content of programs. Consequently, this will restrict the contact of teenagers with negative information on the Internet, which results in a significant decrease in the amount of crime. Second, stricter penalties should be introduced aimed at punishing young offenders, in particular, the repeat offenders, as I believe that this will be an effective way to minimize the crime intention of young people. In conclusion, violence in the media is one of the most contributing factors to juvenile delinquency. By identifying the reasons behind this issue, family and law enforcement agencies could moderate the problem to a manageable level.