Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country's health budget a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The most cost-effective methods for distributing a nation's healthcare budget have often been debated. Indeed, many people have argued that prevention is far better than cure and a considerable amount of it should be shifted from treatment to health education and disease prevention. Personally speaking, this is a very sensible approach for saving public money in the long run. Diverting a large part of the healthcare budget to fund health education seems a very practical measure which can save money in the long term. I would advocate more funds for school programs or public information campaigns to educate all citizens on how to lead a healthy and safe lifestyle, like a sensible diet, regular exercise and road safety. This is likely to result in fewer people becoming seriously ill with common diseases such as obesity or hypertension or injured in road accidents. If this is done, it has to eventually reduce the expensive treatment costs for public health services. Besides that, it is important to allocate a significant proportion of healthcare funding for preventive measures because, again, it would cut costs in the long-run. For example, an increase in the amount spent on research into essential vaccines to prevent serious infectious diseases, such as Malaria, and HIV, which affect millions of people annually and require expensive treatment. Again, if more money was invested into preventing common diseases, less would be required for their treatment and that can only save money in the future. In summary, more government funding on health education and preventative measures is likely to cut treatment costs and save public money.