Some people prefer to work the same type of job throughout their lifetime while others like to change the type of job they do. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

How much time an individual must spend on a particular type of job assignment has somewhat become debatable now a days. While there are some people who continue enjoying their existing roles and do not desire change, there are some people who welcome new challenges. This essay will discuss in detail both views. Some people like to spend majority part of their careers performing jobs of a similar nature. The fundamental reason behind this is job security. By doing a similar kind of work for a relatively long period of time, these people tend to attain a certain level of command in what they do and really enjoy the sense of control over their work. This seemingly also leads to increased levels of job security. For instance, a research conducted by a group of students in 2013 found out that the generation termed as baby boomers (I.e. People born between 1949 and 1969) are less likely to pursue assignments that offer additional opportunities for growth. Even though, such people are able to retain their jobs, they do not progress much when compared to their peers. In contrast, some individuals do not enjoy monotonous work routines and are on an active look out to diversify their work experience. A lot of these people are very ambitious in nature and believe that the most effective way to climb up the corporate ladder is to keep improvising and continually learning new skills. Hence, such people keep on exploring new opportunities throughout their careers. In conclusion, while some people prefer to stay in the same kind of jobs for their entire career at the same time there are also people who think otherwise. They believe that diversification is absolutely essential to ensure career advancement and job nourishment. This essay discussed various reasons why people hold differing points of view.