Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, there is a rising trend of smoking, especially among the younger generation. Smoking has evident detrimental effects on both smokers and individuals in their surroundings. From my point of view ban on smoking in public areas is not only justified but also necessary. To begin, despite knowing chemicals in cigarettes can contribute to any single adverse health effect, smokers may want to continue to smoke. However, the problem is when they smoke in public places they put other non-smoker individuals' health at risk due to the effects of passive smoking, so inveterate smokers are not only destroying their own health but also of others. Medical science has fully supported the dangers of potential passive smoking, hence governments should introduce new legislation, such as smoking ban in public places, to address this issue. What is more, smoking in public places somehow persuades non-smokers, mostly youngsters, to try it, especially when public figures do it. Studies have shown that many individuals unintentionally take up smoking by watching others and they end up getting addicted to it. Moreover, it causes environmental pollution by releasing toxic air pollutants into the atmosphere. The cigarette butts also litter the environment and the toxic chemicals in their remnants seep into soils and waterways, therefore causing soil and water pollution respectively.