In some offices, employees work in enclosed workstations or cubicles. Other offices have a more open design, in which there are no walls separating employees from their coworkers. Which type of arrangement do you think is most effective? Explain, giving reasons to support your answer.

Many of the office goers would consider the workplace as their second home, since they spend most of the time here, second to their living space. The way the workplace is designed plays a very important role as it may boost or undermine the morale of its employees. Workplaces must be carefully designed to meet the needs of its employees, nevertheless, I consider an open style office to be more effective than a traditional cabin or cubicle work place. For many, workstation act as a switch which mentally prepares them to start working, similar to a bed which makes people sleepy when they lay down over it. Hence a proper design is a must. The traditional cubicle or enclosed style workstations, firstly, provide sufficient space to work and secondly, provide some privacy which helps many to effectively concentrate on their work. Such layouts are effective in engineering consultancy, where an engineer needs to stay focus on his work. In spite of these benefits, the traditional design may appear dull and even have a negative impact on its employees moral. On the other hand, many have opted to design their work spaces with little or no walls, thus making the office appear bigger and giving it a modern look. Unlike the traditional layout, it serves as a great place for co-workers to have group discussions, as there is nothing separating them from each other and with some good interior works, can actually help boost their creativeness. As many architects have agreed to incorporate certain colours, patterns and arrangement style which helps the occupants to be more productive in their work. To summarise, the layout of any office, largely depends on its purpose; cubicle style offices are better suited for work which requires steady focus by the performer. However, the advantages such as increased productivity, creativity and ease of having a group discussion makes the modern open style offices much more effective than the enclosed workstation offices.