The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to control violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this action?

It is undeniable that movies, programmes and many sorts of media are filled with violent scenes and the consequences are that many crimes are committed with violence. Therefore, I agree with this statement that government should do something to control such content. Violence in the media brings on lots of adverse impact on the audience’s mindset. Brutality in such programmes and movies may gradually change viewers attitudes, manners and personalities. The youth and children are likely to be the victims of this because they are too immature to control their thoughts and actions. They are usually inspired by the heroism and individualism, therefore solving problems and conflicts with physical power rather than consultation and conversation. This often leads to crimes in school such as bullying. Not only children, but also adults are affected. Some might want to show off their power so they try to imitate what they see and there may be more serious crimes carried out such as murder. If violence in movies and programmes are not controlled and censored, there are still negative influences on the audiences and more crimes are added to the social problems. In addition to what is expressed above, I believe that it will be harder for governments to control illegal acts if sorts of media keep showing violent contents. For example, war documentaries which present the strategies used in war and films with ideas about crimes might be the sources for criminals to consult and do a ‘perfect’ crimes. The anti-crimes forces will have more difficulties in stopping criminals because they are more and more smart. In conclusion, I’m all in the favour of the idea that government should restrict the violent contents because it will decrease the numbers of offences committed and also reduce the negative effects among citizens, especially the youth and children.