Solar energy is becoming popular in many countries of the world because of its availability without any limit. Do the advantages of solar energy outweigh its disadvantages?

It has been observed that a large number of nations are widely using the energy produced by the sun for their day to day life. Apart from its abundance availability, its advantages overweigh its drawbacks which are discussed as under. Firstly, there are some potential benefits due to which many governments across the globe have started to allocate resources to harness solar energy, particularly some developing countries whose major cities are dealing with pollution created by burning of fossil fuels to meet energy demands. Furthermore, solar energy is non-perishable which implies that the government will need to spend only on its installation without having to rely on the dwindling fossil fuels such as coal and oil. Another key benefit of switching to solar energy is that it is less vulnerable to natural disasters such as floods or any unforeseen incident which could disrupt the electricity supply to major cities. Last but not least, solar panels require little maintenance in contrast to thermal and hydropower plants which presents a significant strain on the budget of the government. But there are some potential drawbacks due to which large scale adoption of solar energy may not be possible in the near future. A major obstacle is the initial cost of solar panels and batteries which are quite expensive for middle-class people to afford. Another reason could be the weather in some places such as Europe and North America, which receive a little amount of sunshine, thus, complete reliance on solar energy to light household may not be feasible for countries in these regions. In conclusion, although solar energy has proven to be cost effective, environment friendly and requires no dependence on fossil fuels, in my opinion, completely switching to solar energy may not be possible due to its installation cost and limitations in places which do not receive sufficient sunshine required for solar panels to work and produce electricity for domestic sectors and houses.