Some people claim that tourism can help to bridge cultural gaps between peoples of different nationalities and cultures. Do you agree or disagree?

Tourism has no longer been a new but not an outdated issue that the government should take more action to promote and share the image of each nation. There are many answers for the debate on the topic of whether this field of service industry can fill the gap in the cultures of many different countries. From my subjective point of view, I do not think that this opinion is possible and this essay will discuss my standpoint. First of all, mass tourists are usually do not pay attention to the culture of the nation that they visit. Normally, when a tourist is back from a vacation, he or she wishes to tell others and tend to make it up about what he or she has experienced. For example, people who come to Tokyo mainly because they think that it is the capital of Japan. This will not only not fill the gap in cultures, but also spread the wrong facts about one country. In addition, tourists that go for short vacations often go on tour with a tour guide and cannot be proactive to decide what to do or where to go. They mostly pay attention to what they are able to experience like food, popular destinations, events, or clothes. Therefore, when tourists back to their country, their impression may just be wrapped in what everyone has known without going to the place, their memory about the culture of the nation will be very little or even nothing. Although short vacations can not lead to filling the cultural gaps, long- term journey can. Kinds of travel like exchange students, permanently abroad business can help us to have time learning about the customs of other nationalities. However, this type of tourism has not been popularized yet. Businessmen often focus on their work, learning the cultures of where they come as a lesson not an experience. The part that can be able to bridge the culture gaps is overseas students who have to cope with cultural shock when going to another country and take it as an interesting experience. Thus, there are still a lot of troubles in linking the gaps between peoples of different nationalities by developing tourism. In the final analysis, I am in favour of the opinion that tourism can not fill the gaps between peoples of different countries and cultures. Nevertheless, there are still ways to bridge the distance of differences in the regions.