Nowadays more and more people have to compete with young people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

In the present times, there has been a surge in the number of seniors opting for similar occupations as juniors. This essay will suggest that the main problem this causes is higher poverty among older people and propose lowering the retirement age as a possible solution, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Increased competition for today's youth has left many seniors in poverty. When a young and old people applied for the same job position, it will leave many seniors without work and left on the scrapheap because it is often the case that the young individual will have more skills and may also be willing to work for less money. For example, a recent survey showed that since the financial crisis in 2008, fuel and poverty has increased by 82% amongst the aged. Despite this, many of the older generations own their property and have large savings and therefore, are somewhat insulated from these troubles. The most viable solution would be to drop the age of retirement.Most industrialised countries could afford to lower this from 65 to 60, thus allowing millions of people to retire and be looked after by the state. For instance, Finland has recently decreased the retirement age for all government employees to free up more jobs for their graduates. However, this initiative may be very unpopular with the business community, who have to pay many of these early retirements. In summary, the increased rivalry between young and old in the job market has resulted in the impoverishment of many of our older citizens and countries should consider reducing the age of the retirement to solve this.