People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, people tend to spend more time surfing the Internet to do shopping or chat with friends instead of meeting directly with others. There are a number of reasons for this trend, which are having both negative and positive impacts on their life. There are two important reasons why most people prefer to surfer websites than setting up a face-to-face conversation. The first reason is simply because the Internet is extremely convenient and speedy. For instance, thanks to the Internet people can easily perform trading between two long-distance places because all of the stages, including selecting cargo, bargaining, and ordering take place rapidly on the e-commerce websites. Secondly, interacting online is not only rapid and come handy, but also especially intelligent. For example, Facebook can analyse my behaviour and give me suggestions about friends that I may know. However, this tendency could have both negative and positive consequences in terms of community life. On the one side, interacting online could save more resources, compare with meeting offline. It is evident that multi-national corporations often hold a meeting online among the branches put in many different countries, which would be reduced time and travel cost for companies. In terms of negative, those who spend much time surfing online are more likely to be passive. For example, chatting through social networks would restrict their presentation skills and emotional illustration, consequently, future generations would become less thinking because of dependent too much on technology and machinery. In conclusion, there are several causes resulting in most people prefer surfing online rather than making a directional meeting. This tendency are both negative and positive side for social development, but if people use it properly and in a suitable degree, it would be more useful and valued.