in the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Shopping has become a common activity where people are influenced to buy, some people argue that nowadays people do it as a leisure activity. However, I believe that it brings positive outcomes and I will give reasons why. Today, people are purchasing things because they want to get the latest devices or the last car models, whereas before they used to shop only if it was necessary. Indeed, the phone manufacture companies are getting way more profits lately, because they foster customer to spend money on their products throughout advertising campaigns. Thus, mobile phone users feel the necessity to upgrade to a new phone, although their current phones are still in good conditions and performing well. The lifetime for a car has reduced from 10 years to 5 years, new car models are released every year and therefore the customers want to get them regardless the price or how many cars they already have. However, shopping is also seen as an economic growth factor that produce more employments and trigger the creation of new companies and business expansion. If people shop more often, then shopping centres and retail stores will have a higher income which can lead to business success and survival. For example, Christmas is one of the seasons where people spent the greatest amount of money shopping. As a result, there is a higher demand for products, service and labour which benefits the society considerably. In addition, new companies can be created as there will be more customers willing to buy and support these new products and services. In conclusion, although shopping habit is seen as a negative behaviour, it brings several benefits to the society. More and more people will become shoppers in the future because of internet facilities.