Some parents are worried about the increasing level of violence in TV, video games, and other types of entertainment for children’s leisure. How does this affect children? How do you think this problem can be tackled?

As the technology evolves, children are also spending more time with smart phones and other gadgets to watch movies, videos, play games. Some parents are concerned that this has more negative impact on children as they include violence. In my opinion, this is not only impacting children’s physical health but also psychologically. However, this can be taken care with parents care and observation. Parents are worried that children have a negative impact with the rising violence level in media and other entertainment activities. In other words, when children watch shows or play games with more violence, it may interfere with their thought process. Some children feel nervous by watching crime shows and it can disturb them from their education, while other children start to develop criminal thoughts and think about hurting other people at school or home. One solution to mitigate this problem is to enable safe search mode in internet browsers like Google, YouTube when handing the gadgets to children. In other words, if children are given the opportunity to use gadgets in safe mode, they can still benefit from using electronics to learn technology, play games for relaxation without having harmful themselves. Another option would be for parents to administer what games or videos kids are watching and talk to them about the impact of watching violent shows. In addition, parents should not watch crime shows or murder mysteries in front of children. To conclude, children can gain the benefits of watching videos or playing with electronics if safety measures are taken by parents and help children understand the pros and cons of technology.