Nowadays people work too hard. What are the reasons for this? What should employers do to prevent employees from over-working?

People these days are striving arduously at their workplaces to achieve more. This essay will state the reasons and possible solutions that employers ought to do to prevent employees from doing this. The main reason for the people to work hard is to earn more salary. These materialistic gains are important to fulfil the increasing desire of people. Nowadays, people want to lead a luxurious life with best amenities and to achieve this, people are working hard. Parents are earning more because they want to give their children all the things which they demand. In other words spending power of people has increased, therefore, to match those spending people need more wage. People want to save the capital so that their next generation can lead a better life. Employers need to undertake steps to avoid such scenarios. Employers can limit the maximum number of hours, especially, those employees who have to stretch regularly, this will help them to spend some quality time with their family. Organisations need to take care of people as they face the risk of burnout after working for long hours. Longer working hours may also lead to decrease in efficiency. Companies should motivate employees to take leaves regularly. For instance, a survey suggests that efficiency of staff increases after taking some days off from work. To conclude, I feel that people are working hard to earn more wealth, but they fail to realise that this can have a short term benefit and can impact their health. Employers need to motivate employees to take leaves and spend time with the family.