It is known to all that the technological and scientific advances have made great changes to the range and quality of our food. Some people regard it as an improvement while others believe that the change is harmful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Presently many advances have been made to the art of cooking both in terms of general advancements in culinary science as well as through the employment of newer technology like refrigerators. This has resulted in improved quality along with an increased variety of the many foods we consume daily; in my opinion, while many may choose to see this in a positive light, there are significant drawbacks that need to be considered. Firstly, as mentioned above with the employment of newer technology like refrigerators, food can remain fresh longer; for example, locally grown produce in distant parts of the world can be safely transported long distances without getting spoiled by the use of the refrigerator; thus denotes a person or thing this technology has helped preserve the quality longer. Additionally, as a result, many exotic ingredients grown in distant parts of the world can be purchased hassle-free from local supermarkets; resulting in an increased variety of dishes consumed today. Conversely, the main downside observed is that many food manufacturers are misusing preservatives to make them last longer; these toxic chemicals in the long-term can cause cancer. For example, many fishermen in India are now mixing formalin with fish to make it last longer. This type of practices should be harshly looked down on, and much stricter legislation must be introduced by governing bodies around the world to combat this issue. In conclusion, while there have been many advances in how we grow, preserve, and ultimately consume our food; there are significant drawbacks like preservative usage which needs to be strictly regulated and taken with utmost importance.