Many People Believe That Formal “Pen And Paper” Examinations Are Not The Best Method Of Assessing Educational Achievement. Discuss This View And Give Your Own Opinion.

Many think that the old school pen and paper-based examination systems have become obsolete in the 21st century, and better methods of accessing individual students educational standards must be implemented. I agree with this view entirely and believe that traditional paper-based exams must be phased out completely. Firstly, the pen and paper-based exams typically involve answering questions in short paragraphs, which is then read by an examiner; this type of examination is not entirely objective as it introduces examiner bias. For example, what is considered a perfect answer by one examiner might be considered by another as adequate. This introduces minute variations within the marking system; an obvious solution to the problem is utilizing multiple choice-based examinations; this way, each candidate's answer can be marked objectively with no chance of bias or subjectivity. Secondly, the presentation of short answers plays a vital role in the traditional exams; for instance, an individual with neat, legible handwriting will score more than the examinee with messier writing. MCQ's negate all this, as it tests everyone's knowledge objectively not just based how good his or her handwriting is. This is the main reason why many traditional exams in the world have now shifted to MCQ system. Additionally, results of MCQ based examinations can be published much quicker than traditionally based exams, saving up a lot of time for the students. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the old school paper examinations have become outdated and newer, more objective methods of examination like MCQs must be introduced.