Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

Nowadays, parents spend a huge amount of money to acquire plenty playthings for their kids. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of having abundant toys. To begin with, having a large number of toys has it of a thing, of it; possessive form of "it" its merits, in that it helps to improve the cognitive development of children. For example, toys such as building blocks with the alphabet, and scrabble has been known to build up the intellectual ability of children. Moreover, some games and puzzle also enable kids to understand what they are taught in school better. Furthermore, most parents who spend a lot of time at work with little time for their children these days, purchase lot of toys to keep them busy with while their parents are away so that they do not feel their absence. Also, having a good number of toys is a good way to keep children indoors, especially during a pandemic when it is unsafe for people to go out. However, one of the disadvantages of having lots of toys is that children can become very obsessed with these playthings that they isolate themselves from their peers. The result of this is that young children will become socially awkward and it can have an adverse effect in adulthood. Secondly, because toys are expensive to buy, getting many toys can put a drain on the income of parents. For instance, a study showed that many parents spend about 50% of their income on toys which is a thing of concern for them. To conclude, although toys are very good for children, too many toys pose a threat to them. Therefore, parents and care givers ought to strike a balance in acquiring toys for children.