One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

The global phenomenon of urbanization since the beginning of industrialisation to the present day has brought opportunity and prosperity, albeit at a cost in the quality of life. Nowadays, all the major cities across the globe are struggling with traffic congestions. The cause and solution for this issue are outlined below. To begin with, due to the advent in sophisticated modern technologies and rise in economic standards, many people are now able to purchase their personal commute for transportation. As a result, the number of private vehicles running on the road has increased dramatically. For instance, a recent study published by the Oxford University illustrated that, more than 75% of people around the world owns a car. In addition, because of the unreliable nature and poor service quality of the public trains and buses, a vast majority of the population prefers to drive their own vehicle on the roads. However, in order to solve this overgrowing issue, the government should make greater financial investments in public transportation. In theory, this would encourage people to travel by using public commute. Therefore, it will ease traffic blockage situations significantly. Further to this the traffic jam situations could be eliminated by spreading awareness among people, regarding the detrimental impact of these automobiles on the environment. In conclusion, it is clear that roadblock problems are increasing at a very alarming rate. Various solutions exist to mitigate such drawbacks, but nevertheless, a definite solution is yet to be found.