Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people believe that tertiary education is needed for better career prospects, while others have the opinion that extensive experience in the field and interpersonal skills would help a person to get hired by big firms. In my view, both higher degree and experience are essential to achieve this. Those who are in favour of tertiary education might argue that a standard university degree is a pre-requisite to achieving career goals. The reason is that deep knowledge and training are required for landing a finer job which could be only learnt at universities. For instance, practising as a doctor or a lawyer needs a professional qualification in the fields of medicine and law, respectively. Furthermore, jobs in specialised fields require adequate subjective knowledge, and this is not possible without an honours degree. On the other hand, jobs in some sectors such as marketing, sales and advertising are for those individuals who are experienced and have strong communication skills. For example, a marketing employee should have marketing expertise and persuasive ability which could help their company to increase its sales; thus, leading these individuals to gain success in the industry. Moreover, gone are the times when workers accomplish all the tasks on their own; nowadays, projects are carried out by a whole team. If a worker lacks the ability to work in collaboration, then it would be difficult for him to get hired. In conclusion, although the experience and soft skills could help a person to gain success, this success is incomplete without a university education. However, I believe that the combination of both academic qualification and interpersonal skills with thorough practice could open better career opportunities for an individual.