As most most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. 1. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? 2. How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

A large proportion of the adult population will expend an enormous part of of their lives serving in the labour market. Therefore, achieving career satisfaction significantly contributes to an individual's overall well-being. This essay will discuss the different means for living a satisfying work life and how feasible it is for all employees to experience it. On the one hand, the major reasons for career fulfilment is choosing a field of interest, a good workplace environment and regular incentives. Firstly, people whose area of specialisation are those they have an interest in, are more fulfilled than those who choose otherwise. Secondly, the atmosphere at the job place is vital. For instance, those who carry out their duties under less or non stressful conditions are more satisfied than those who are under tremendous stress or tension. In addition, employees who receive constant or occasional forms of encouragement from their employers, such as, promotions, salary raise or commendations are noticeably more driven to achieve and hence, find pleasure exercising their duties. On the other hand, the issue of career realisation is quite subjective. There is a saying that happiness is a choice. Moreover, if there is no personal willingness to seek pleasure at the workplace, then it can never be accomplished. For example, individual already battling with depression or other devastating life issues cannot attain an equal level of joy in their employment. Thus, it is impossible for the entire task force to have work fulfilment. In conclusion, although there are many contributors to work satisfaction, it is unreasonable to think that every employee will attain this ultimate goal. Therefore, measures must be taken to encourage people to seek personal happiness in their place of employment.