Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Owing to the latest researches in the medical industry, which claim to have a potential of extended life expectancy of masses to more than a century, it is often debated among masses whether it would be beneficial or not. In my opinion, despite the better lifespan, there will be numerous problems for humankind to confront in the future. On the one hand, people who consider this medical breakthrough as an accomplishment of the millennium assert that such circumstances would allow people to stay with their near ones for an extended period than usual. For example, as there would be few deaths, the world would experience no sorrows or grief of losing their loved ones. In addition to this, with the extended lifespan, the experiences and genius opinions of experts can be preserved and utilised for a longer span to satiate the upcoming generations. On the other hand, the issues countries will face cannot be neglected. With the increased life span of demographics of any nation, they are more likely to become a strain on the public funds. For example, the demand for food to serve the populace will surge in a way that it will be a challenge for the agriculture industry to cater to upkeep a balance between demand and supply. Moreover, for the growing population, the requirement of sufficient land and housing would be another problem to serve. This shall result in the dilapidation of natural resources, for example, forests. The forest reserves will diminish when cut down to acquire the land to develop the much-needed infrastructure. In conclusion, even though the strength in having a rise in the age of people will benefit various sectors, I deem that the potential jeopardy of having a burden and deforestation is far bigger than the merits. Moreover, the expertise of such masses can be utilised for future references if we preserve their knowledge.