Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true in the present society that there is a tendency for employers to recruit employees who have formal educational backgrounds rather than real-world experience and aptitude, which derives from the guarantee of specific skills and alleviating risks for businesses. This writer believes that this circumstance is beneficial enough on account of the collection of prospective workers. It is crucial to acknowledge that many employers recently desire to guarantee working skills that are normally owned by academic students. In other words, parallel with the development of human civilization and population, more and more job applications are sent to many companies, leading to the difficulty of personnel offices to classify. In addition, the number of people applying for an occupation is so crowded that if that employee has no basic skills or knowledge about the specific work, it would be a huge loss for companies. As a consequence, personnel officers have a fundamental criterion of academic achievement in order to ensure specifically skilled workers are hired and filter out many unskilled people. The reduction of risk-taking must also be considered. It must be recognized that if employers recruit a number of people without any professional working knowledge, it would cause many problems for the business situation, such as financial issues or mistakes in paying taxes. For this reason, personnel officers and employers have to collaborate to filter people who have academic qualifications to reduce the majority of people lacking knowledge and skills. Take Asia countries as pertinent examples, where over 80% of the number of employers use a university diploma as a principal criterion for recruitment orientating toward the target of eliminating unskilled people, motivating the improvement of making profit. From this writer’s perspective, recruiting academic employees helps employers select future potential officers for the development of companies. It should be self-evident that with strong academic knowledge, they can easily adapt to the workplace and broaden their horizon since they suffered from the internship. Furthermore, a solid academic foundation that they studied at university assists them learn new practical skills as the job requirements involved. In this situation, those workers will become the main workforce to develop the companies through their self-development and on-the-job experience. Thus, looking for futuristic talents by hiring a number of formal academic workers is one of the shortest ways to accomplish success. Taking all points into account, guaranteeing fundamental skills and the alleviation of risks for businesses contribute to the main motivations for recruitment. Therefore, the futuristic potential of workers should also be considered as a key criterion for the hiring and development of companies.