Avoiding preventable illnesses is the responsibility of individuals and their families not government

In recent years the debate of who held the responsibility to avoid preventable illnesses between individuals and the government has gained a lot of traction. The government, in particular, is always getting the heat when it comes to this debate. People regularly seek to blame the government for the slightest mistake they made, especially now when the whole world is on a global scale lockdown, people still hold the government accountable for their inability to prevent and contain the spread of the viral outbreak, even though the government has at least tried to provide some sort of basic countermeasure. Furthermore, the government should not always be 100% held responsible in avoiding preventable illness in society, but rather it comes down to the individual responsibility of the people itself to truly avoid preventable illness The research from W.H.O (World Health Organization) suggests that 6 of the 10 leading factors contributing to the global burden of disease can be attributed to lifestyle. Lifestyle has played a major role in causing illness in the more modern nation, and lifestyle is not something that the government could directly control because it’s something that comes down to the individual characters and behaviour of the person. A thing such as unsafe / unprotected sex, alcoholism, high cholesterol diet, and usage of tobacco is also something that is deeply rooted in lifestyle, those such things are the factors which causes the most common illness / diseases in today's society. Many governments of the world have spent billions to combat obesity, alcoholism, HIV / AIDS yet the problem persists. This just proves that many people are still irresponsible with their health and why individual responsibility is key to avoid this metra of avoidable illnesses, as even the country such as Finland and England with the most developed health care system in the world suggest to its people that individual responsibility for health and well being are also important Some people might say that this point of view has a flaw because how could someone be held responsible for their health when they have mental incompetence, addictive behavior, or perhaps cultural pressure, certainly these people wouldn’t be held accountable right?. While there is no denying such a statement, but it’s only true to some extent. This is why an individual can’t be 100% held responsible for their health, both government and individual people must have the responsibility to some degree, but the greater emphasize are put on the individual itself. As for an example, a government could provide a plethora of vaccines for various diseases such as measles, yellow fever, chickenpox, influenza, etc., these vaccines-able diseases could kill 2.5 million people each year if left untreated base upon W.H.O report from 2012. Now imagine that there is a person that refuses to be vaccinated because he / she thinks vaccines wouldn’t do anything. It can clearly be seen that individual responsibility is also needed to avoid preventable illness / diseases, and from the previous example that is the responsibility of that person to vaccinate her / himself In summary individual responsibility is needed to avoid preventable diseases, but a person can’t be held 100% responsible for their health since they potentially inhabit some disabilities that prevent them to do so, hence why some sort of government responsibility is also required to complete the whole cycle. The preventable illness in society is commonly caused by lifestyle.