Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

According to some, whenever children get free time, they should be encouraged by their parents to participate in group activities, whereas others feel that they should be taught to engage themselves on their own. I believe that the former is more beneficial for not only the children, but also for society. On one hand, being a part of a team immensely aid the overall development of children. Firstly, they learn the importance of team work and understand what it takes to work with others to achieve a common goal. This learning would be beneficial for them when they lead or manage a team in the future. Secondly, it helps them to learn conflict resolution in a group of varied personalities and get the work done. It also improves their negotiation skills so as to make others understand and accept their point of view. For instance, children who act as leaders in team activities such as sports are more likely to lead a large organisation due to their developed leadership skills. Finally, group activities such as social work, help children not only become extroverts, as they need to deal with different people in the community, but also understand other needs and work towards helping them. They will eventually become valuable members of society. On the other hand, there are some basic benefits of teaching children to manage their own time. It might help children learn individual skills like art or to use their free time for learning musical instruments. For example, during situations like novel corona virus lockdown, child could take care of themselves without much help from parents, especially when both the parents are working. This reduces the burden on parents and spend less time in occupying the children. To conclude, encouraging children to participate in team activities will help them develop their personality. It also benefits society as these activities will act as a breeding ground for future leaders.