some people believe that university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology . Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is widely debated that, whether university undergraduates should consider subjects of their own interests or they ought to oblige to take career oriented courses such as science and technology. Both of these accounts will be examined thoroughly before a conclusion is reached. Admittedly, there are enormous reasons why people believe that in case of tertiary education, mind over heart is more important. The primary reason is future employability, It is statistically proven that subjects related to science and technology are in high demand and companies paying huge salaries and incentives to the students well equipped with these skills. In U.S.A for instance, it is estimated that by the year 2020, there will be a shortage of manpower to fill in more than 2 millions high tech jobs. Therefore, it is important for students to choose subjects that are of economic value. After all, money makes the world spin. Contrary to that, passion is important to succeed in life. Hence, it is important to choose subjects that invigorate interest. To illustrate this, in Australia trainees who are passionate about sports, pursue it as a discipline in the college. Consequently, academies across Australia produce world class athletes and sportsmen. It is not a mere coincidence that they are always at the top of medals tally in the Olympics, and all the contestants from universities. So, it is important to pursue education with enthusiasm; success will eventually follow. Having considered a range of arguments, I have concluded that, tertiary education ought to be driven by interest and not economic value. After all, Knowledge is wealth and is always golden in nature.