Some people think that teenagers should follow the example of older people. Others think that it is natural for teenagers to challenge what older people say. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days listening to the elders has been a debatable issue. While some believe that the young generation ought to listen to their elderly, I agree with those who think that they should do on their own as it gives them a precious lesson to be learned. On the one hand, it is thought by some that teenagers should listen to their parents or grandparents. This is because having well experienced in their life and they often learned many valuable lessons from their mistakes. Also, in their life, they have seen many ups and downs which gave them a good lesson. For instance, many parents give advice to their children not to play with those children who are arrogant, selfish or involved in bad influence, as they knew from their experience that such children are mean and would allow their children to be like them. However, even though such advice given by parents is utmost important, I think that some decisions should be left over to their children, such as choosing a career and life partner, that gives me a valid reason not to agree with this view. On the other hand, it is argued by others that youngsters should do on their own and challenge their elderly. As they would learn an important lesson in their life from their own mistake that will be with them forever, and probably, the same mistake would not be repeated again in the future. For example, in the recent article by BBC News in March 2020 revealed that 55% of teenagers choose their career on its own and found to be successful at living in technology era they knew what is the best for their career. Likewise, if they had compelled by their parents to choose the career or education, they would have not been able to successfully and learned any lesson on their own. Therefore, learning from own mistakes gives them to go ahead in their life and do not repeat it, which gives me a reason to agree with this opinion. In conclusion, although some argue that following or listening to our parents or grandparents is the best way, I agree with those who believe that millennials should challenge their elderly and do on their own that gives an important lesson to be learned if we get wrong.