Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problems does this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

Lack of fresh water has grown to become an important concern worldwide. A significant investment in the storage and purification of rainwater can reduce important consequences of this issue, such as famine or an inevitable fight over this fundamental resource. Even though water covers 70% of our planet, not the entire amount can be drunk or classified as fresh water. This resource is rare and currently not used in the most efficient way. The lack of fresh water has been caused because of several factors that involves its inefficient use in agriculture, or even a rapid growth of human population. An increasing amount of yearly deaths due to diseases or famine is one of the strongest impacts that this global issue has already generated, and that will continue to increase if effective actions and solutions are not taken. Climate change has been one of the main actors involved in this lack of fresh water. By altering patterns of weather and water around the world, climate change has entirely caused droughts in some areas and floods in others. These floods and the amount of rainwater have the potential to become one of the main solutions. Investing in high-end technology can assure that significant amounts of rainwater can be stored and subjected to purifying processes, which can act as a strategic reserve for countries when times get tougher and the percentage of this resource becomes minimum. To conclude, water can easily be perceived as a plentiful resource because of the amount existing on our planet. However, only the percentage of this resource that can be described as fresh has been decreasing rapidly throughout the years due to some external factors. One of these factors, which is climate change, can be effectively used as part of the solution when storing and purifying the amount of rainwater that it produces, which will prevent or reduce already existing impacts of this global issue.