Some people think it is more important to spend time in developing a successful career while others think it is more important to spend time with friends and family. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Certain people opine that one must remain focused towards building a promising career, while others believe that family and friends are of utmost importance, so it is more important to spend quality time with loved ones. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and will emphasize that there needs to be a perfect work life balance and that both work and family life is important. Career is an essential part of an individual’s life which requires careful planning and dedication. In today’s competitive work environment, young people must work very hard to earn themselves a reputable position in an organization. Therefore, it is absolutely important that youngsters should always remain focused toward achieving a rewarding career, after all, it is their job that will be the barometer of success and will consequently define their position in the society. On the contrary, there is a group of people who rather think otherwise. These people opine that family is of paramount importance and is above everything. They argue that modern day life has become very mechanical, subsequently, resulting in traditional family values being lost. These days, families are becoming more and more dysfunctional. A major factor behind this is that people have stopped spending time with each other because they are too caught up with the day to day nuances of work their routine. In fact, as per a recent study published in the Lifestyle magazine, it was reported that almost 1000 couples have filed for divorce in past 3 years. Upon getting feedback from the couples it was revealed that they decided to separate because they were finding it difficult to simultaneously manage their work and personal life. To conclude, though people should stay focused with regards to their careers, but at the same time they must ensure to effectively allocate sufficient time toward family activities. Hence, in my opinion, the key to living a content life is to strike a perfect balance between personal and professional life.