In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Undoubtedly, the government is taking various initiatives to reduce the crime ratio in the societies. Now, video cameras are installed in most of the public places to increase the security facilities. Although many argue that this step has restricted the freedom of people, but as per my opinion, its advantages outweighs its disadvantages. To initiate with, there are immense benefits of increasing security in the surroundings. Firstly, people feel secure to go out. Nowadays, criminals are well aware that if they proceed any offensive activities in the public places, they would be easily caught up by the police. For example, recently in India, the 'big ATM robbery gang' was arrested with the help of CCTV footage. This is the reason that offenders are scared to pursue any crime under the security cameras and public are feeling safe to move. Despite this, it is good for a country's reputation. If a nation would be crime -free, foreigners will not hesitate to visit there. This will enhance the scale of the tourism sector. Nevertheless, it cannot be denied that this security arrangement is a threat to personal liberty. For instance, either it is a bus stop or restaurant, we are completely covered with intelligent cameras. Owing to this, it has become difficult to publicly share space with our close ones. Also, cyber crime is at its peak due to technological advancement which even creates a feeling of dis denotes a person or thing this comfortability among masses. To recapitulate, according to my perspective, indeed, it is quite complicated to always remain covered by camera securities, but if its effect on crime rate is considered, then no doubt, it is the best way to control crime in the cities.