In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Due to the advancement in the automobile sector and as a result of this decrease in price of the four wheelers and cars, the ratio of the number of vehicles compared to the last few decades have been increased significantly. Some experts across the planet earth admit that the governments should collect higher taxes from private owners and this amount shall be utilized to improve the public transit facility. And the others are not agreeing the same. In this essay, we are going to discuss the pros and cons of the statement in the upcoming paragraphs. First of all, by considering the heavy amount of taxes, most of the people would not prefer the private vehicles and would try to travel by available option of public transportation. As a result of this, the ridership on the buses or trams will be increased and by this, the government organizations will start profiting. Secondly, dwindling in number of vehicles on a road, the noise and air pollution will be reduced significantly. Also, the wider and better road infrastructure would be exposed to civilians. Moreover, the collected income shall be used for the public transport facilities like buses, suburbs, metro trains and much more. On the other hand, the main disadvantage will be imposed to the citizens who are living in rural areas or countryside areas. Currently, less public transport facilities are available to areas. By enforcing this idea, they might be able to give the tax and would not be able to travel by their own. On top of it, this scenario will adversely affect to the automobile industries. The companies might be hit by the stone of the less production and eventually it may be the major cause of unemployment of their staff. In a nutshell, by imposing heavy taxes on the owners of private vehicles have numerous advantages compared to the disadvantages. Therefore, from my point of view, for better and developed public transport facilities and improved infrastructure, heavy taxed must be collected from them.