Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance listening from the internet rather than face-to-face interaction in the classroom. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There is no doubt that more and more universities are focusing on online learning programs. Although the traditional learning system has some benefits, the new generation distance education has more advantages. This essay will discuss both views of this argument. Firstly, face-to-face interaction in the classroom is a lot more expensive, and takes years to complete. The amount universities are charging these days is increasing day by day. For instance, Delhi University has doubled its course fee in the last decade. In comparison, the salaries students receive after completion is still the same. If this continues, more people will opt for online classrooms, which is way cheaper and faster. As a result, the university degree will become obsolete. Secondly, online learning is faster and cheaper. This is because the students do not have to go to classes, and wait for hours. They can learn on their own time, which is very flexible. For example, Coursera courses are around $5000. In contrast, a reputed degree cost around $50000. This is a huge difference. In addition, colleges can also benefit from this, they can enrol as many students in the online classroom. This will enable them to gather more capital, which they can use to enhance their quality of education further. To conclude, internet education is for the betterment of students, and we should all embrace it. It provides individuals with faster learning at an affordable price in comparison to distance learning, which can now only be afforded by the rich. This can put students in debt for life.