These days, more people are going to university than in the past. They start work later in life and with higher qualifications. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today’s generation, most students prefer to enrol in a University because of better quality standards, wide resources, good social community and tremendous extracurricular activities. They usually spend more time and money to achieve levelled up education like earning a degree to achieve higher credentials. Though allotting more time and money in order to secure a degree from a University is significantly a financial challenge and time consuming to most people, the writer firmly believes that it is a considerable form of investment for a lifetime developmental benefit. Financial is one of the biggest aspect to consider in deciding to choose a degree in a University. Thousands per year is required because of expensive tuition fees and school requirements. In addition, students who are away from their home town will be needing extra cash for accommodation and daily expenses. For instance, in the Philippines the average tuition fee yearly would cost P130000 to P250000 but if you decide to upgrade to a higher level of education like master’s degree or doctorate degree, the cost would probably double or triple. Thus, it may cause long term debts. After high-school or college, starting a job and earning money can be initiated earlier but if you desire to pursue continuing education you will be needing to utilize more time thus extending the time when you will earn money. Higher degrees require 5 years unlike the usual 4 years. Medicine prerequisites a 4 year degree before a student is allowed to continue a 4-year course in a medical school and then complete a 3 to 7 years of residency. Those years spent studying when could have been used for a job which may have given you a huge amount of money. However, bigger opportunities awaits for those who sacrificed time and money for a higher level of education. Even though later in life they started earning money, the salary of a degree holder is much way more competitive because higher positions are available and promotions are more viable. Moreover, graduating with a degree would mean that you are well equipped with exceptional skills and knowledge because of advanced training and lessons taught. To summarize, attaining a degree for higher credentials is difficult and challenging but if students will weigh the advantages that it can provide for tomorrow those problems are like a dot that is too small to compare with.