Nowadays, people are spending more time away from their homes because they spend longer in their workplace. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In our modern society, the number of people who prefer to spend their time in their work environment rather than in their personal home, is decreased. Like all the other issues which are not completely positive or completely negative, this phenomenon also has some upsides and downsides spontaneously. So, in this essay I will analyse both negative and positive sides of that. On the one hand, working hard and long in the workplace, could have a lot of advantages which can be separated into three levels. Firstly, working hard and long is a key factor to develop the economic level of the country. For example, researches about the Japanese employees’ lifestyle, indicate that they spend more than 80 hours a week on their job, and it is accounted as an undeniable reason which become them as a huge-economic power in the word. Secondly, organizations and companies are the other important stakeholder in this era. In other words, comparing successful and unsuccessful companies, reveal that the progress rate of organizations which their staffs spend longer time than the average are rapider than the others. On the other hand, spending long hour in the work environment, have some disadvantages for people. In this regard, the most important negative point is that people’s relationships specifically with their partners is affected badly. To explain more, a psychologist in Iran who researched about the divorcing reason in 2008, indicated that the reason of 40% of divorces is that couples spend a little time together in a day. Except for this, it is worth recalling that, working for a long hour could be the root of a huge range of mental and physical disease such as unsociability, obesity, poor eyesight, etc. In conclusion, however, there are a lot of advantages such as economical benefits for employees, organizations and countries, but the disadvantages of this phenomenon are undeniable. So, creating a balance between work and life is the only key principle to minimize the disadvantages of work in this era.