A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Tourism is one of the major contributors in the economies of several nations. It has several advantages such as the development of certain industries and increase in employment opportunities along with some disadvantages like increase in crime rates and loss of local culture. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of travel industry and provide a logical conclusion. Firstly, increase in travel has led to tremendous progress of the hospitality industry. Today hotels, restaurants, theme parks and transport systems are advancing rapidly, owing to this. In order to attract more tourists, every business in this sector is investing more and more money, which in turn leads to the development of economy. For instance, the hotels providing the bare minimum services in the past are now giving the travellers each and every luxury. In addition to that, the tourism industry has increased job opportunities for local people. The number of tour guides, waiters, cooks, bartenders required are directly proportional to the number of visitors. An example of this, is Australia, where jobs directly related to tour and travels have increased by 5% in last 2 years, due to the growth of tourism. On the other hand, more travellers have certain downsides for any place. Local culture can be greatly affected by this. Tourists can influence the local culture and traditions. Provided that, the community can lose their rituals. For instance, the Kathakali dance form of India has greatly been modified to entertain the visitors, thus ruining its original form. Secondly, the crime rate can significantly go up due to the growing number of sightseers. They are crime targets as they carry a lot of money and valuable objects. However, the above drawbacks can be eliminated through certain measures. To conclude, the travel sector has perks such as advancement of leisure businesses and more job openings and harmful effects like surge in crimes.In my opinion, as the above problems can easily be resolved, it can be said that tourism has more advantages.