Many people believe that formal "pen and paper"examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a traditional examine approach, “pen and paper ” examinations are a universal approach to evaluating an individual’s study performance. However, some people argue that it is not the most appropriate method, and I agree with that. Firstly, it is not comprehensible to judge the candidate’s abilities rely on one piece of the examination paper only. Because everyone has different skills and capabilities, and not each of them is apt at “pen and paper ” exams. For example, many students can have a good grasp of knowledge and have a strong ability in oral expression or hands-on practice. However, they would feel extremely nervous when taking a paper test, which makes it impossible to achieve their actual level, and finally obtains a lower score. Secondly, the results of the “pen and paper ” examinations are not objective. Because students can rely on rote memorization or to find some tricky ways to get better scores, but actually, they do not understand what they have learned nor know how to use it. For example, the LELTS examination has consisted of four components. It not only contains the listening, reading, and writing sections which need to write the answers on the paper sheets, but also comprise speaking test which can demonstrate one’s English ability more effectively. Thirdly, the “pen and paper ” examinations are more likely to present a risk of cheating. Because the examiners graded the papers just depend on the answers on the answer sheets so that it has higher odds of cheating in paper exams compared with other exam methods. In that case, the examinations are entirely meaningless. By comparison, candidates have little chance to cheat in interviews or hands-on practices. In conclusion, although “pen and pencil” examination is the most commonly used test methods currently around the world, but it is not the best one. It should be combined with other ways flexibly to judge each student more accurately.