As global trade increases between different countries, many daily necessities are produced in other countries. Such goods are usually transported a long distance. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks?

There is no doubt that trading of necessary goods is accelerating at a fast pace internationally due to globalization. In my opinion, the benefits of this practice far outweigh the drawbacks because not only does it help to maintain competition in the local market, but also make available all necessities for foreign consumers living abroad. Admittedly, there are numerous disadvantages to this trend. One of them is to bear the heavy loss by the importer. To elucidate, many fruits and vegetables, which are often transported from one nation to another, are being protected by using chemicals and preservatives to reach a long distance. Hence, if there is an unexpected delay in transportation, these goods will spoil easily. As a result, the supplier has to bear a huge loss for such consignment. Despite the aforementioned drawbacks, I believe this practice is beneficial to foreign consumers in different ways. Firstly, it makes the necessary goods accessible. This is because often people belong to the different nations have their preferable food products and vegetable, which enable them to stay overseas. For example, recent news from the Economic Times reported that having better job prospects, the majority of Indians prefer to live in the foreign countries due to easy accessibility of their native food items; this has resulted in the migration of many Indians to stay over there without worry. Secondly, it helps to increase competition in the local market. If foreign customers have a wide range of goods available to choose, it will encourage the local manufacturer to produce the same quality goods locally rather than importing. Therefore, this brings healthy competition in the market. In conclusion, even though there are many downsides one of them of importing products internationally is an intense loss to importer, I think that encouraging competition in the local market and easy access to all necessary products are more imperative benefits.