Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

There is indeed a tremendous upsurge in purchasing cars by many city dwellers as compared to the past years. In my opinion, I vehemently agree with this former notion that most metro cities are facing heinous transport congestion. Therefore, law-enforcement agencies can take myriad steps to tackle this problem such as imposing taxes on private modes of commute and improve the public transportation system. Unfortunately, an increase in car ownership has become a reason for the huge traffic jam in city life and this issue cannot be ignored. To be more precise, nowadays it’s become affordable for societies to buy a new vehicle on instalments and by paying fewer taxes on private vehicles, this practice will lead to starting to overflow the roads as everyone could buy a vehicle and prefer to commute via same. Moreover, People hesitate to use public transportations because of the poor condition. To elucidate, due to pathetic facilities people use to prefer private vehicles to save time and majorly for safety and security. Furthermore, the government should take several actions to settle this problem, there must be some stringent instructions and rules are imposed on purchases of private vehicles. Firstly, one of the options could be increasing the tax on private transports which will decrease the number of counts buying vehicles. Secondly, the government should improvise the transport facilities and provide many alternative transportations for the public such as trans-city buses, sky-trains and undergoing trains which offer better, safer, faster and more affordable means of transportation. As a result, people would choose more public transports then conjunction used in comparatives than they are using their vehicles. Therefore, the traffic jam will subsequently reduce. To conclude, although the most cities struggle with the issue of traffic congestion, law authorities can alleviate this situation by imposing taxes and improving the transport system.