Some people believe that song lyrics which glorify violence and criminal lifestyles should be banned. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such a ban.

It is generally thought that songs with a violent language and which contribute to spread a criminal lifestyle, shouldn't be transmitted. I believe that these music types are inappropriate for children and teenagers due the fact that they can be influenced negatively. Additionally, many children don't understand what is commonly considered "right" and "wrong" in our society: as a consequence, they empathize with these songs just because they think they are "cool", behaving as gangster without thinking about the negative impact for their future. On the other hand, these lyrics are a an expression for many singers about the story of their lives; for this reason, banning songs with criminal contents, would mean to offer less opportunities for artists to represent their life. Furthermore, it could be an issue related to music business: if these types of songs are not produced anymore, the discography houses will lose a lot of money. I strongly believe that banning music which promotes violence, would be a benefit for our society: first of all, there will be less crime since the youngest would not be influenced by aggressive music; children could become less aggressive and consequently they will spend their spare time in activities that involve creativity. Secondly, many cities could become less dangerous; people would behave more consciously in the community and violent episodes will decrease drastically. Many cities will become safer and more welcoming for living and for tourists as well. In conclusion, music producers should be more careful with the contents in their lyrics, paying more attention to spread positive messages throughout the songs. It is impossible to stop criminality in the world just through banning music which involves a violent language, but it means a positive contribution to reduce criminal actions along with less negative inputs for teenagers.