Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the crime rate has recently high in over the world, especially large city and developing countries, and several solutions required for mitigating this trend. There are man people believe that a rise in the number of police officer in public could create positive consequences, but I believe that there are other solutions that can prevent criminal activities. On the one hand, appearance of police in public areas could help to enhance the security of the community. Most of unlawful activities such as shoplifting or pick-pocketing usually occur on the streets, and immediate reaction of the police could help to warn crimes and provide a safe feeling for the local residents. In addition, these styles of criminals also happen at bus stations, train stations, stadiums, where security staffs are required to prevent unlawful acts. On the other hand, I believe that there are various other appropriate solutions that could be taken by both governments and individuals to reduce the crime rate. Firstly, governments could use the mass media as a platform in which they educate their citizens about negative impacts on community and family, potential punishments could be applied and hotline for contacting when unlawful acts are investigated. Secondly, Governments could provide education, vocational training and rehabilitation programmes for prisoners, in order to improve their life after released from prison and prevent committing crime again. Finally, school and family have to put their responsibility on their kids and make they will become useful and good residents of the society. In conclusion, appearance of police officers in public could help in mitigating crimes in society, but there are other solutions that could also prevent this problem and benefit community.