The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The proportion of obese youngsters in Western nations has spiked approximately by a fifth in the last decade. This essay will explore the causes and the consequences associated with this issue that can result if it goes unnoticed. Good intro To embark upon, one of the factors that stimulates these problems is the contemporary lifestyle that has been adopted in multiple countries in the western world. In particular, it is impossible to go unnoticed of the fact that video games have taken the upper hand over sporting activities in recent times. Further, the preferences of children have shifted due to the convenience and comfort that they gain through virtual games. In contrast to taking part in physical activities where an individual’s energy is drained and one becomes exhausted. For instance, the Guardian reported that 55% of the youths in the UK have turned to virtual games which has meant that they have neglected playing sports such as football, tennis etc. Which is a worrying sign claims an analyst. Happy with the first paragraph As a consequence, health issues can arise which can derail the functionality of children’s bodies because of the lack of physical recreation activities. Firstly, continuous exposure to computer screens means that they are seated comfortably in their couch without any significant movements. This paves way to laziness and indolence. Then one becomes excessively tired just by performing tasks which don’t require much effort because the individual has gained weight and finally leads to a condition known as obesity. For example, SingHealth has reported a rise in 8% of obesity cases, especially for children in the last couple of years. Second paragraph some problems As a whole, the sudden shift towards virtual gaming from physical sports can be concluded as a principal factor making youngsters obese in several western nations. As a result, it has caused multiple health issues such as overweight due to their idleness and inactivity.