Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views regarding the major that students should study at universities should be compulsory or by their own choice. I personally think it would be more beneficial to let students make the decision by their own willingness. Some people may feel studying in a particular field have more advantages for both society and individuals. Having more job opportunities, better salaries and be more respected in the community can be some reasons for them to address this solution. By choosing subjects that have attracted more attention in society, one may guarantee the future for himself. People also argue that this compulsion may help to decrease the unemployment rate as government make students to study majors which are more likely to have job vacancies. I think forcing people to study subjects that they don’t like, would not be a good idea necessarily. First of all, not all the people is talented in science and technology areas. Student’s potential should also be considered when one subject is chosen for them. For example, maybe in a family one of the children is good at math and another one is gifted in art. The authority cannot force both to study engineering as it will be more helpful for the economy. In addition, people are likely to be more successful when they study in their desired realm, as they are more willing to put time and energy there. Also by giving people choosing right for their life, they will usually try more as they feel more responsible. Eventually, a successful singer would be more beneficial to society and his own rather than a disappointed dentist. In conclusion, I suggest it is better to give the chance to student to choose their own university majors as forcing them would not be a reasonable idea.