Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara or the Antartic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

In the modern world, tourism, especially international tourism, to places that are less populated is becoming increasingly popular. People are visiting remove areas like the Antartic and the Sahara desert to enrich their lives with a unique experience. Such tourism comes at a cost and this essay will discuss the pros and cons of this niche tourism. To begin with, one of the predominant advantages of visiting such places is the presence of peace and serenity due to the lack of proper civilization in these regions. Nature loving people appreciate this calmness and it aides them to return back to their stressful work lives with a new and rejuvenated energy. For instance, a survey by an African tourism company reveals that more than 60% of the tourists who choose these underpopulated spots are stressed in their routine lives. On the other hand, when people visit these uncharted territories to explore their interests, they expose themselves to a potential threat to their life. Unpredicted weather conditions and a rough terrain, when combined with the lack of food and water, may result in atrocious mishaps. For example, news channel in Nepal reports that over 30% of the people who aim to conquer Mount Everest slip off into a valley before reaching the peak. Moreover, visiting these barren deserts and regions of extreme cold is expensive for the tourists as they often need to buy or rent specialized equipment. Also, survival lessons are of paramount importance before visiting these places; however, tourism agencies often demand a high charge for offering them. In conclusion, travelling to places with difficult conditions have both positive and negative effects. Thus, a careful decision, considering all the effects, should be made before visiting such places.