Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Other think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The function of the modern universities consists of divided views. Many intellectuals opine that the student should get vocational skills and knowledge. While, others perceive that the universities should continue their radical function of imparting knowledge without considering the employment of their scholars. This essay will discuss both views, along with my opinion further. To begin with, the former view is emphasizing the role of the educational institutes to mould their pupils for adaptive workplace. In this competitive world, the employers prefer the candidate not only by their academic scores, but also by their skills. Consequently, the graduates with vocational academics are essential resources of the companies. As a result, the firms could decline their time and efforts to prepare the new employees for the mentioned posts. For instance, the Computer engineer student having ample knowledge of python programming will be the first choice of the IT firm. Thus, the employers as well as the candidates are benefited by the dynamic role of the universities. On the other hand, the latter view is portraying the traditional way of teaching at the higher educations. The prime responsibility of the university is to inculcate the skills to the students for their bright future. Overall, the conventional methodology is focused on the betterment of the students enlighten, irrespective of their employment. Thus, the graduates will be self-reliant to make their space in the competitive market. For example, the education enables the students to make their own choice for their career and accordingly they will get jobs. Such, simple method of teaching would provide diversity in the fraternities. In conclusion, the skilled youth with a vision is the future of the society. In my opinion, the dynamic strategies of the universities will be more lucrative to the students. Therefore, the universities should offer vocational courses and training to their scholars. This practice will be helpful to establish the most productive workforce for the society.