Nowadays many people go shopping in their free time. Shopping has replaced many other activities that people used to choose as their hobby. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the last decade, the introduction of malls in cities has affected the behaviour of the people to a large extent. Now, shopping malls attract the masses to spend their luxury time in plazas rather than pursuing their hobbies. There are various reasons attached to it, and this is more of a negative development rather than positive. Firstly, malls offer all the essential items and entertainment factors in one place under one roof. Shopping malls include food arena, multi-branded showrooms, spa, multiplexes, kids zone, etc. To attract maximum footfall as this would augment their revenue. To illustrate this, in today's hectic lifestyle, most people want to get relax and shopping plazas offer free music to shoppers which make them calm. This in turn results in laymen to visit malls and do shopping. Secondly, in previous times, ladies opt to learn stitching clothes at homes which enhance their creativity and helps in increase of household income but due to availability of ready-made garments at malls, these types of hobbies get obsolete. However, these shopping plazas are creating a negative environment around us as people are slowly moving towards sedentary lifestyle. For example, people prefer to play outdoor games like cricket, football, rugby etc. With each other, but due to availability of attractive places like malls, the outdoor activities have reduced to a large extent. Furthermore, people have become spendthrift. To exemplify this, normally shoppers go out for window shopping but due to flashy marketing, people end up in purchasing unwanted stuff which diminishes their savings and results in bad habits like borrowing money from near ones. Apart from this, the main reason to establish markets like these is to attract maximum footfall to earn hefty revenues ignoring the pros attached to it which people unable to understand in the short run. To conclude with, there are many reasons to deny the fact that people do not go for shopping unnecessarily, but I hold the view that this trend has increased in today's life and people are forgetting the god gifts hide inside their mind.