The government should impose a fee on drivers who use their vehicles during rush hour to help cut down on air pollution from exhaust fumes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on whether or not the authorities should charge a fee on drivers who utilize their private transports during rush hour to diminish the rate of air pollution. Although there are a number of people who think that policy is negative, I personally support this opinion for the following reasons. To begin with, charging fees for driving during peak hours would ease traffic congestion since most commuters will react sensitively to additional financial fees. In particular, this practice acts as an incentive for them to drive cars less often, reducing the number of vehicles on the road. In addition, if punishments are applied, drivers tend to choose the public transports, especially buses and raise their awareness of protecting the environment. As a result, this would bring good effects to air deterioration in terms of reducing smoke from private cars. On top of that, it is true that imposing extra expense in rush hours facilitates the preservation of the natural environment by using the revenue for the public. For example, in Canada, the fund has been relocated by the government for building public facilities such as parks and zoos. This not only caters to the recreational needs of residents but also boosts the air quality in the long run. Had it not been for this approach, the polluted air would have not been fixed efficiently. To sum up, there is no doubt that imposing serve taxes to save air environment has proven to be effective. Therefore, I believe that this idea would be beneficial to both the planet and society.