The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people demonstrate their stronger preference for social networks to communicate with others over physical interaction. Of course, gaining ready access to the social networks is beneficial, but I think that the disadvantages should not be overlooked. The most important benefit is that the social network is proven extremely convenient for information exchange and relationship maintenance, and this is particularly true when long distance is a matter. This might be necessary for members of families who are apart because of working or studying abroad and for companies which do businesses internationally. In such cases, face-to-face conversations are unlikely carried on very often and are replaced by virtual conversational exchanges via video callings or other instant messaging platforms, for example. Thus, the constraints of geographical distance would be eliminated. This is why many people think that social media brought people from over the world closer together. However, they should not ignore the negative effects of the excessive reliance on social media to exchange socially. First, many people are more familiar to share their feelings and thoughts with virtual friends than family members or true friends. By doing so, they are alienating themselves from their family or social groups, losing the sense of community. Second, the overuse of social networks to interact with other people are reducing our social skills such as eye contacts or body language expressions. For example, many people have become so accustomed to resorting to telegraphic styles or emoticons on online platforms to express emotions that they might not be able to read the mannerisms and gestures from their counterparts in face-to-face conversations. In conclusion, social media brought unprecedented conveniences to communicate with other people. However, I believe that the disadvantages are stronger than the advantages if we are over-reliant on this way of communication.